NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


When and where is the CONCACAF Gold Cup Final 2021?

The 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup got underway on 10 July, was held across 11 different stadiums throughout the US, and now we are down to just two sides.

When and where is the CONCACAF Gold Cup Final 2021?

Sixteen sides started the month of July with hopes of lifting the CONCACAF Gold Cup trophy on 1 August - some more wishful thinking that others - as the biggest prize in North and Central American international soccer was laid on the line.

Perennial favourites Mexico and the USA were seen as the sides to beat and it turned out that way, with both of the great rivals now set to meet in the showpiece final.

Gold Cup news:

Where will the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup final be held?

The 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup final will take place at the Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas. The 60,000-capacity ground is home to NFL side Las Vegas Raiders and college football team Las Vegas Rebels.

All match tickets for the 1 August final were snapped up in just less than 90 minutes, with a full house guaranteed for the showpiece game.

VAR (Video Assistant Referee) has been used for the first time at this year's Gold Cup and now Mexico will look to defend their title.

Full list of cities where the Gold Cup games were held:

- Fort Lauderdale, Florida at the DRV PNK Stadium
- Arlington, Texas at the AT&T Stadium
- Austin, Texas at the Q2 Stadium
- Dallas, Texas at the Cotton Ball Stadium
- Frisco, Texas at the Toyota Stadium
- Glendale, Arizona at the State Farm Stadium
- Houston, Texas at the NRG Stadium
- Kansas City, Kansas at Children's Mercy Park
- Las Vegas, Nevada at the Allegiant Stadium
- Orlando, Florida at the Exploria Stadium

The semi-finals were held at the Q2 Stadium in Austin and the NRG Stadium in Houston.

2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup final: Mexico vs USA - how they got there

Hector Herrera scored in the ninth minute of second-half stoppage time to give Mexico a dramatic 2-1 victory over Canada in the semifinals of the CONCACAF Gold Cup at Houston on Thursday, reported Reuters. The Mexicans are now in with a chance of their ninth championship out of the 16 Gold Cups, including a 1-0 victory over the Americans in the 2019 final.

The U.S. defeated Qatar 1-0 on Thursday in the other semifinal and will be in its 12th final seeking its seventh title. The United States last won the Gold Cup in 2017.

Herrera took a pass from Rodolfo Pizarro and hit a shot from 16 yards. Several scrums ensued before play continued after the goal. Orbelin Pineda converted a penalty kick in the second minute of first-half stoppage time to put Mexico ahead. Tajon Buchanan tied it in the 57th minute for the first goal allowed by the Mexicans in the five tournament matches.

Mexico failed to regain the lead in the 66th minute after Jesus Corona drew his second penalty. Canada goalkeeper Maxime Crepeau dove to his right to save the attempt by Carlos Salcedo. Crepeau saved the match early in second-half stoppage time with a left-handed swat of a header by Pizarro.

Mexico took a 1-0 lead after a video review prompted a foul call against Doneil Henry on Corona. Buchanan scored the equalizer after an outlet from Mark-Anthony Kaye down the left flank. It was Kaye who fouled Corona in the box that led to the PK heroics by Crepeau.

The Canadians were without striker Lucas Cavallini and defender Steven Vitoria due to yellow-card accumulation. They were also minus forwards Cyle Larin and Ayo Akinola because of injuries. Canada was in its first semifinal since 2007 and was looking for its first championship since 2000. The Canadians are the only country beside the U.S. and Mexico to win the Gold Cup.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?