NFL

NFL Week 5 Schedule: dates, games, times. Who wins, Chiefs or Bills?

The Kansas City Chiefs host the Buffalo Bills at Arrowhead Stadium on Sunday Night Football, Week 5. Could this be a preview of the AFC Championship Game?

0
NFL Week 5 Schedule: dates, games, times. Who wins, Chiefs or Bills?
Bill Streicher USA TODAY Sports

Week 5 of the regular 2021 NFL season kicks off Thursday, October 7 with the Los Angeles Rams at the Seattle Seahawks. (Kick-off 8.20 p.m. ET) 

Here are some of the intriguing games we’ll be seeing on Sunday, Oct 10: the Green Bay Packers vs. Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns vs. Los Angeles Chargers, San Francisco 49ers vs. Arizona Cardinals. 

The Indianapolis Colts and Baltimore Ravens wrap up the week on Monday Night Football on Oct. 11.

Highlight of the Week: Kansas City Chiefs host the Buffalo Bills

And in what is the highlight of the weekend, the Kansas City Chiefs host the Buffalo Bills at Arrowhead Stadium on Sunday Night Football. Could this one be a preview of the AFC Championship Game?

The Bills and Chiefs’ offenses have an average of 33.5 points per game, and are currently tied for second in the NFL in points per game. Given their solid offenses both teams have strong reasons to believe they are in with a good shout of wining this game.

Most NFL experts are predicting a close game between the AFC conference heavyweights, but are calling it for the home team. Keeping in mind what happened last year at the Arrowhead Stadium, the Buffalo Bills will be looking for a little revenge against the Chiefs as they return to their stadium for the first time since their loss against them last year in the AFC Championship Game

What happened in Arrowhead Stadium last year Chiefs vs Bills? 

The Buffalo Bills’ return to the Chiefs’ home field might bring unpleasant memories for what was their 2020 plane-crash-moment of the season. The Bills were enjoying their most successful football season in over a quarter of a century when the Chiefs trampled all over their successful streak, and took the spot in the Super Bowl, though of course Mahomes’ side would lose that game to Brady’s Bucs. 

In the Championship Game, the Chiefs posted three-straight touchdown drives before halftime, with Tyreek Hill and Travis Kelce ending up combining for 22 catches and 290 yards in a 38-24 win

The Bills were not able to keep their composure, even though they had been playing aggressively all season. Their offense was shaken up during the game, and despite two early scores, they failed to find the end zone again until 4:08 remained.  

It was a toned-down end of the season for the Buffalo Bills at Arrowhead Stadium, yet a great drive for their 2021 Chiefs' encounter when they step into their home turf again. 

 The Buffalo Bills:

The Buffalo Bills are coming off their second victory this season, after a convincing 40-0 win over the Houston Texans. Even though their victory was against the Texans, it’s still pretty impressive that they allowed no points to an opponent

They picked up nicely after losing 23-16 in Week 1 to the Pittsburgh Steelers, and won three consecutive games. Some experts could argue that winning against the Texans, Dolphins or the Washington Football Team doesn’t prove they necessarily have what it takes to overpower the Chiefs. But, they do have an impressive winning combined score of 118-21, and nobody can argue with the strength of that offense

Will the Kansas City Chiefs repeat History? 

The Kansas City Chiefs are coming off a non-conference win, 42-30, against the Philadelphia Eagles in Week 4. It was a much-needed rebound win after looking wobbly at times. The Chiefs’ game vs the Cleveland Browns in Week 1 was a narrow one, but ended up winning 33-29. They went into two tough games consequently where they lost one-point to the Baltimore Ravens and six-points to the Los Angeles Chargers

Kansas City strikes a pose with their high-flying and explosive offenses every chance they can, and what’s a better reason to shine than being at home

 Most experts are calling it for the Chiefs. According to Tipico Sportsbook, Kansas City will be a 2.5-point favorite over Buffalo, with a final score of around Chiefs 30, Bills 27.

 Week 5 NFL Schedule

 

Thursday 7 October

Rams vs Seahawks (8:20 p.m. ET / 5:20 p.m. PT)

 Sunday 10 October

Jets vs Falcons (9:30 a.m. ET / 6:30 a.m. PT)

Lions vs Vikings (1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT)

Saints vs Washington (1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT)

Patriots vs Texans (1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT)

Dolphins vs Buccaneers (1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT)

Packers vs Bengals (1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT)

Broncos vs Steelers (1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT)

Eagles vs Panthers (1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT)

Titans vs Jaguars (1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT)

Sunday late Games

Browns vs Chargers (4:05 p.m. ET / 1:05 p.m. PT)

Bears vs Raiders (4:05 p.m. ET / 1:05 p.m. PT)

49ers vs Cardinals (4:25 p.m. ET / 1:25 p.m. PT)

Giants vs Cowboys (4:05 p.m. ET / 1:05 p.m. PT)

Bills vs Chiefs (8:20 p.m. ET / 5:20 p.m. PT)

 

Monday 11 October

Colts vs Ravens  (8:15 p.m. ET / 5:15 p.m. PT)

 

How to watch the NFL

 Our guide to how to watch every game.