NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How many times have Mexico won the Gold Cup? What is their record in the final?

Santi Giménez’s goal allowed Mexico to defeat Panama in the 2023 Gold Cup final and continue their incredible record in the competition.

Santi Giménez’s goal allowed Mexico to defeat Panama in the 2023 Gold Cup final and continue their incredible record in the competition.
Gary A. VasquezUSA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

Mexico have done it again. They were firm favourites to see off Panama in the final of the 2023 Gold Cup at SoFi Stadium and regain the trophy they surrendered to the USMNT two years ago. Although they left it late, they eventually delivered, Santi Giménez striking with just three minutes of normal time remaining.

Interim head coach Jamie Lozano was thrown in at the deep end a week before the beginning of the tournament, when previous boss Diego Cocca was relieved of his duties following a disastrous spell in charge. Things could hardly have gone much better for the new man, however.

Mexico’s triumphant 2023 Gold Cup run

A 1-0 group-stage defeat to Qatar, when qualification for the knockout stage had already been secured, was the only blemish on El Tri’s record at the tournament, with comfortable victories to nil against Honduras in the opening round and then Costa Rica and Jamaica in the quarter and semi-finals respectively.

The result of the other last-four clash also appeared to have gone in their favour, with an admittedly understrength United States beaten by Panama in a penalty shootout. And while Los Canaleros made things tough for their opponents in their third Gold Cup final, they ultimately came up just short, ending the tournament as runners-up for the third time after narrow defeats to the USMNT in the 2005 and 2013 finals.

El Tri: Gold Cup masters

The Gold Cup is, quite simply, Mexico’s ‘thing’. El Tri are the most successful nation in the history of the competition having now won on nine occasions, twice more than the United States. And that is despite having appeared in one final fewer than their neighbours.

Sunday was Mexico’s 11th final and they have emerged victorious all but two, losing twice to the USMNT (2007 and 2019). They have also beaten the Stars and Stripes in five finals, as well as defeating Brazil twice and Jamaica.

By contrast, the US have won seven of 12 finals (Canada, in 2000, are the only other country to have won the Gold Cup since it was created in 1991).

Mexico’s Gold Cup final record

  • 1993: Mexico 4-0 USMNT
  • 1996: Mexico 2-0 Brazil
  • 1998: Mexico 1-0 USMNT
  • 2003: Mexico 1-0 Brazil (after extra time)
  • 2007: USMNT 2-1 Mexico
  • 2009: Mexico 5-0 USMNT
  • 2011: Mexico 4-2 USMNT
  • 2015: Mexico 3-1 Jamaica
  • 2019: Mexico 1-0 USMNT
  • 2021: USMNT 1-0 Mexico (after extra time)
  • 2023: Mexico 1-0 Panama

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?