NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Yachine Trophy: what is it, nominees and who has won it before

The award, founded in 2019, has been previously won by Liverpool’s Alisson and PSG’s Gianluigi Donnarumma.

Real Madrid's Belgian goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois celebrates at the end of the UEFA Champions League, Group F, first leg football match between Real Madrid and RB Leipzig at the Santiago Bernabeu stadium in Madrid on September 14, 2022. (Photo by JAVIER SORIANO / AFP)

The Yachine trophy, named after Russian goalkeeper Lev Yashin, sees its winner be selected by former Ballon d’Or winners. The trophy is awarded to the best goalkeeper from 1 August 2021 to 31 July 2022.

Ballon d’Or 2022 live online today: awards, nominees, winners and latest updates from the ceremony

The award, which was founded in 2019, was won by Liverpool’s Alisson Becker in its inaugural year and by PSG’s Gianluigi Donnarumma in 2021. In 2020, France Football decided against handing out the award in a coronavirus-impacted year.

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker celebrates at Anfield.
Full screen
Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker celebrates at Anfield. Peter Byrne - PA ImagesGetty

Yachine Trophy nominees

Premier League shot-stoppers Alisson Becker, Ederson, Edouard Mendy and Hugo Lloris have all been nominated. La Liga has three representatives in Thibaut Courtois, Jan Oblak and Sevilla’s Yassine Bounou.

Yassine Bounou (Sevilla)

Alisson Becker (Liverpool)

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)

Ederson (Manchester City)

Mike Maignan (AC Milan)

Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid)

Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)

When is the winner announced?

The prize will be handed out at the Ballon d’Or ceremony on October 17 in Paris. Thibaut Courtois is the favourite to collect the prize due to his outstanding contribution to Real Madrid’s success last season. The Belgian netminder earned the Man of the Match award after Los Blancos’ Champions League final victory over Liverpool in May.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?